fbpx

Arkansas Insurance Rules You Need to Know About

Home » Law Blog » Arkansas Insurance Rules You Need to Know About

It is probably not a surprise that every U.S. state's uniqueness can range from flag styles to driving laws. Car insurance laws and regulations also vary widely, especially for Arkansas drivers. Having the required amount of motor vehicle coverage is critical if you get involved in a collision. You should also consult with an experienced car accident personal injury attorney about compensation for your injuries and property damage.

What Car Insurance Coverages Does Arkansas Require?

As of 2020, the Arkansas Insurance Department requires state residents to have the following vehicle coverages at a minimum:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury or death for an accident involving one person;
  • $50,000 for bodily injury or death in accidents involving two or more people in a single accident; and,
  • $25,000 for property damage you cause to others.

Arkansas PIP Coverage Requirements

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is insurance coverage designed to cover most medical costs, lost wages, and burial expenses for Arkansas residents involved in car accidents. This policy does not rely on fault for the distribution of benefits. Insurance companies around the state typically offer three separate coverage options, and you can pick and choose which and how many you want.

Med Pay

As the name suggests, this coverage deals with accident-related medical costs you and passengers in your vehicle incur as a result of injuries.

Medical payment coverage will compensate some or all of the following expenses:

  • Accident-related medical bills
  • Ambulance costs
  • Funeral expenses

Lost Wages Compensation

Frequently, motor vehicle accident injuries require time off work to recover. This benefit provides for compensating lost income under certain circumstances.

Death Benefit Coverage

If you or a loved one should die in an automobile crash, this policy will ensure that related costs to this death are covered for up to a year after the accident occurred.

It is important to note that all of these policies provide a $5,000 minimum of coverage without a deductible required. For many Arkansas accident victims, PIP coverage is preferable for many accident-related medical costs. Still, you can reject this coverage in writing at any time.

Additional Car Insurance Options Available in Arkansas

While not mandatory, full coverage car insurance is often a preferable option for many drivers in Arkansas. In addition to PIP, there are additional coverages available to you:

Comprehensive

These insurance policies cover damage resulting from circumstances not involving an accident, like hail.

Collision

This coverage protects your vehicle during collisions with another car or object.

Uninsured and Underinsured Motorists Coverage

This insurance is a smart investment. It covers accidents where the at-fault party has inadequate or no insurance to cover the damages they cause.

These policies have three components:

  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
  • Bodily injury
  • Property damage

Consult a Reputable Arkansas Car Accident Attorney

If you suffered injuries in a car accident, Arkansas law might allow you to seek compensation. Contact the highly skilled attorneys of the Wren Law Firm today for a free case evaluation.

Why Choose Wren Law Firm?

We began our law firm in 1997 to provide our community with the best legal consultation of any firm in the state of Arkansas. We know you have many options when it comes to legal representation, contact us now to learn how we can help you. 

24/7 Service

Injuries can happen at any time of day. We have 24/7 phone service so that you can feel secure in your time of need. Call Wren Law Firm at 501-523-1000 or toll free at 800-300-1775.

Expertise

With over 20 years of experience in injury and employment law, we provide the highest level of expertise to all of our clients.

Risk Free

We believe nobody should have to worry about whether they can afford attorney representation. Therefore, We only get paid when we obtain a settlement for you.

Free Consultation

Unsure where to start? Call Wren Law Firm at 501-523-1000 or toll free at 800-300-1775 and we will evaluate your case to give you the best legal advice and next steps.

Get a Free Consultation

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Phone

Toll Free: 800-300-1775
Direct: 501-523-1000
Fax: 501-223-5309

Address

Wren Law Firm
11300 Executive Center Dr.
Suite A
Little Rock, AR 72211

Hours

We are open 24/7!
© Wren Law Firm 2021 | All Rights Reserved | Designed By Chris Wendel
Español? envelope-ophonecross